Disclosure: Top10VPN is editorially independent. We may earn commissions if you buy a VPN through links on our site.

StreamVPN Review

 0% 
No user reviews
Screenshot of the My Expat Network tray app
Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio

Ask Callum about StreamVPN

Our Verdict

5.15.1/10
How is this calculated?

Our overall rating is reached by combining several subcategories. The subcategories are weighted as follows:

  • Logging & Jurisdiction: 30%
  • Speed & Reliability: 25%
  • Security & Features: 20%
  • Streaming: 10%
  • Torrenting: 5%
  • Ease of Use: 5%
  • Support: 5%

See our full methodology in how we review VPNs.

StreamVPN underperforms in all areas. While it unblocks local TV in 12 countries, it also logs far too much personal user data and simply isn't focused on privacy. Slow speeds and a limited server network also hold this VPN back, and prevent it from competing with other VPNs in the same price range.

Ranked #50 out of 70 VPNs

StreamVPN Category Ratings

  • 8.58.5/10
  • 00.0/10
  • 4.94.9/10
  • 4.64.6/10
  • 66.0/10
  • 3.93.9/10
  • 5.65.6/10
  • 4.14.1/10
  • 7.57.5/10
  • 55.0/10

StreamVPN Pros & Cons

Pros

  • No IP, DNS, or WebRTC leaks
  • The widest range of streaming sites we've seen
  • Fast, friendly customer service
  • Cheaper than some competitors
  • Stealth protocol will work in some censored regions

Cons

  • Not focused on privacy
  • Unnecessary data logging
  • Pretty slow speeds
  • Fairly limited network

As its name suggests, StreamVPN is focused on unblocking streaming services. This has made it hugely popular among European expats living abroad, particularly those from the UK.

But unfortunately it just doesn’t offer the same quality of service, safety or value for money as alternative VPN services.

Until March 2022, StreamVPN was called My Expat Network. Despite the change of name, the product remains identical.

StreamVPN Key Data

Data CapUnlimited
Speed44Mbps
Logging PolicySome User Logs
Data LeaksNo
JurisdictionHong Kong (Under Pressure from China)
Servers120
IP AddressesNot disclosed
Countries12
US NetflixYes
TorrentingRestricted
Simultaneous Connections5
Works In ChinaNo
SupportEmail Ticket, Online Resources
Cheapest Price$5.49/mo over 24 Months
Money-Back Guarantee30 Day Money-Back Guarantee
Official WebsiteStreamVPN.com

Unnecessary logging

Logging & Jurisdiction

4.94.9/10
How is this calculated?

We dissect the logging and privacy policies of every VPN. A VPN should never log:

  • Your real IP address
  • Connection timestamps
  • DNS requests

A base of operations outside of 14-Eyes or EU jurisdiction is preferable.

StreamVPN doesn't publicly publish it's privacy policy, which consists of logging IP addresses, connection timestamps and server locations, and storing this data for two years. This is an awful logging policy, one of the worst we've seen.

StreamVPN is based in Hong Kong. The VPN’s focus has always been on providing expats with access to streaming services from their home nations – this differs from most commercial VPN services, which put an equal if not greater focus on privacy and security.

We used to rate Hong Kong as one of the best places on Earth for privacy, but unfortunately the reality of the situation is now more complex.

Hong Kong itself has very liberal data laws which have historically been ideal for running a VPN, but its proximity to and volatile relationship with mainland China have made it difficult to predict whether this will continue to be the case in the future.

Recently, Hong Kong Chief Executive Carrie Lam oversaw the blocking of at least one VPN service in the region. We can’t guarantee that StreamVPN, even with the best of intentions, won’t be compromised or banned in the future.

Logging Policy

You can really tell that privacy isn’t the focus of StreamVPN. We weren’t able to find any logging or privacy policy for the VPN online – only one for the website.

After talking to customer service we have discovered that StreamVPN doesn’t log user activity, but does log:

  • Your IP address
  • The time and date of connection
  • Server location of each connection

StreamVPN keeps this data for up to two years.

This is too much data collection – it builds a detailed picture of your online activity and would totally de-anonymize you were anyone to access these logs. It goes far beyond what is necessary to run the service.

We also think that VPNs should provide transparent reports of what they do with their customer data as a matter of practice, even if its main focus isn’t privacy – as is the case here.

Too slow for HD or 4K

Speed & Reliability

4.64.6/10
How is this calculated?

Speed ratings are calculated using upload speeds, download speeds, and ping (latency).

We test average speeds regularly using a dedicated 100Mbps connection in London, UK. Local download speed is considered the most important factor.

This VPN is very slow on both local and international connections. Expect buffering when streaming, especially if you want to watch 4K or HD video.

As a streaming focused VPN we were hoping that StreamVPN would have consistently good speeds, especially when connecting to nearby servers.

Sadly, this wasn’t the case.

Local Speed Test results before using StreamVPN:

  • Download Speed: 98.73Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 98.37Mbps
  • Ping: 7ms

Local Speed Test results with StreamVPN:

  • Download Speed: 44.19Mbps
  • Upload Speed: 87.94Mbps
  • Ping: 55ms

Download speed loss when StreamVPN is running: 55%

Our download speed loss when running StreamVPN: 55%

Ping was surprisingly bad too – 55ms on a same city connection – so we wouldn’t recommend gaming while connected to this provider.

The only server with latency low enough to game with anything like good ping was the Netherlands at 14ms.

Globally, speeds were pretty underwhelming, and often not enough to stream video without at least some buffering:

  • USA: 22.27Mbps (download) & 44.57Mbps (upload)
  • Germany: 34.63Mbps (download) & 90.96Mbps (upload)
  • Norway: 28.7Mbps (download) & 68.1Mbps (upload)
  • Australia: 6.29Mbps (download) & 21.9Mbps (upload)

The best speeds we saw were in the Netherlands which saw a 34% drop in download speed and the worst were in Australia which saw a 94% drop.

Overall, these speeds have the potential to cause a pretty unsatisfactory streaming experience, particularly if you want to watch 4K, or even HD, content.

Small server network

Server Locations

66.0/10
How is this calculated?

The global spread and coverage of the VPN server network is the most important factor here.

We also consider the number of city-level servers, plus how many IP addresses are maintained.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

StreamVPN maintains 120 servers across 12 counties, limited entirely to Europe, North America and Australia.

Globe with a blue flag
12 Countries
Image of a city landscape
12 Cities
Image of a pink marker
Not DisclosedIP Address

The StreamVPN server network is focused on giving access to streaming services in just 12 countries.StreamVPN is offered in 12 countries

It serves these countries well, but offers nothing outside of them. This means that the further you get away from these regions, the slower speeds you can expect.

That said, if you only want to access a VPN server in, say, the UK, your VPN provider having lots of servers near you won’t make any difference to your performance. Since StreamVPN’s sole focus is allowing you to stream content from certain countries, it makes sense that their server network is limited.

It would still be nice for its network to grow in the future, though, and there is nothing stopping it from adding additional servers in those 12 countries.

At the moment StreamVPN claims to have only 120 servers across these 12 countries, with no public statement on how many different IP addresses it maintains.

Lots of regional services

Streaming

8.58.5/10
How is this calculated?

Streaming is rated by the number of different services unlocked, how many regional libraries are viewable, and how consistently the VPN can access them.

Netflix, BBC iPlayer, HBO Max, DAZN, and Amazon Prime Video are all tested on a weekly basis.

If you want to stream specific regional services like BBC iPlayer or All 4, StreamVPN works well. It doesn't work with Netflix, though, and is held back by slow speeds.

Given its specific focus, this is where we really expected the VPN to shine.

And we weren’t at all disappointed with what we saw.

We got access to favorites like BBC iPlayer, Amazon Prime and Disney+ without any problems at all. StreamVPN consistently exceeds expectations.

Its website has a TV Guide with the full suite of streaming services you can access from the UK, the US, Australia, Canada, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, the Netherlands, Spain, France, Italy and Germany.

A screenshot of the My Expat Network TV Guide

The selection is exceptional.

The main thing which lets StreamVPN down here are its speeds, which prevent you from watching all this in Full HD a lot of the time.

It also hasn’t worked with some premium services for a long time, though, including US and UK Netflix and DAZN.

P2P blocked

Torrenting

00.0/10
How is this calculated?

We calculate the average download bitrate of every VPN using a bespoke torrenting setup.

Testing also factors in the percentage of servers which permit P2P, plus useful features like port forwarding.

P2P blocked on all servers, and the service disconnects without warning when you try to torrent.

P2P traffic is technically allowed on StreamVPN’s Netherlands servers.

When we tested it, though, we found P2P traffic was blocked on this server too.

If you try to torrent on any other server, the service ends your connection without warning. Since StreamVPN does not have a kill switch, this leaves you dangeriously exposed.

Combined with its unnecessary logging practices, this means we we don’t recommend torrenting with StreamVPN.

The slow speeds aren’t ideal for downloading or seeding large files, either.

Won't work in China

Bypassing Censorship

3.93.9/10
How is this calculated?

Our remote-access server in Shanghai, China routinely tests if a VPN can beat restrictions and access a free, open internet. Obfuscation technologies and nearby servers are also a contributing factor.

This rating does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Security & Features rating.

StreamVPN includes a stealth protocol, but it didn't work when we tested it from China. We don't expect it to be effective in other censored regions, either.

StreamVPN includes a stealth option for all of its servers – which should be great news if you want to watch TV while living in, working in, or visiting a region with restricted internet.

Unfortunately, when we tried to access the service from our Shanghai server we found it was blocked.

According to customer services, the stealth protocol works in some regions of China, some of the time, but not everywhere. We’ve not seen any evidence to prove this, though.

We haven’t been able to find much customer testimony of it working in restricted regions, either.

If you already have StreamVPN it might be worth giving it a go in China, but if you want to guarantee access to the free internet we would recommend using a more reliable VPN for the country.

Another thing to bear in mind is that StreamVPN’s stealth protocol is not available on iOS.

No IP, DNS, or WebRTC Leaks

Security & Features

5.65.6/10
How is this calculated?

Top-rated VPNs offer OpenVPN or WireGuard protocols, AES-256 encryption, and a functional kill switch. We also consider additional security features and the global spread of VPN servers.

StreamVPN includes AES-256 encryption and the trusted OpenVPN protovcol. We've also never seen it leaking IP or DNS information. It lacks advanced features, though.

Protocols
  1. IKEv2/IPSec
  2. L2TP/IPSec
  3. OpenVPN (TCP/UDP)
Encryption
  1. AES-256
Security
  1. DNS Leak Blocking
  2. VPN Kill Switch
Advanced features
  1. None

StreamVPN makes use of AES-256, which is some of the strongest encryption available and currently unbroken, a great sign from a security perspective.

The protocol being used varies depending on which device you use. Windows and macOS both make use of OpenVPN – a well trusted and versatile protocol. iOS is on IKEv2 which is also great, and our preferred protocol for mobile connections.

The Android app uses L2TP, though, which is an outdated standard. There are worse protocols out there, but we’d like to see StreamVPN move over to IKEv2 for Android as well.

The app does feature a kill-switch, although it can be difficult to find. This means if your connection to the VPN server drops your IP will be protected.

We didn’t see any DNS, IP, or WebRTC leaks, either, which is a good sign for both your privacy and security.

Router support is a big bonus

Platforms & Devices

How is this rated?

A quality VPN should maintain functional, fully-featured applications and extensions for as many platforms and devices as possible.

This does not directly contribute to the Overall Rating, but instead makes up a portion of the Ease of Use rating.

StreamVPN is available on lots of devices, including Mac, PC, mobile and routers. It also has an Amazon Fire TV Stick app.

Apps

  1. Windows
  2. Mac
  3. iOS
  4. Android
  5. Linux
  6. Router

All the basics are covered by StreamVPN. It has custom apps for Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, and Linux.

You won’t find any browser extensions for StreamVPN. Still, the suite of apps available cater to the vast majority of phones and computers.

Best of all, StreamVPN can be installed on your home router. It even has comprehensive guides to help you do it. We’ll get back to why this is good later in the review.

Games Consoles & Streaming Devices

  1. Apple TV
  2. Amazon Fire TV
  3. Chromecast
  4. Nintendo
  5. PlayStation
  6. Roku
  7. Xbox

There is a dedicated Amazon Fire TV app, which is ideal on its own or for use with media apps like Kodi or Roku.

As we’ve already mentioned, StreamVPN can also be bought on a pre-configured router.

This is great as it allows you to run the VPN simultaneously on all your devices – potentially giving your whole home a direct connection the internet of your home country.

Using a router is also the best way to set up a VPN on lots of media devices which don’t have support for VPN applications. This includes Apple TV and games consoles like the Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and Nintendo Switch.

Depending on the payment plan you choose, StreamVPN only allows you to connect either one or five devices at a time, but if you install it on a router you can connect as many as you want.

Outdated tray app

Ease of Use

4.14.1/10
How is this calculated?

This rating mainly consists of the intuitiveness of setup and everyday use.

Device or platform compatibility and customization options are also a factor.

My Expat Network is surprisingly hard to use given it's stated audience. The PC app is operated from the tray, something most VPNs moved on from years ago.

How to Install & Set Up StreamVPN

It’s 2022: we expect more than a tray app from a paid VPN service.

Unfortunately this is all My Expat Network have to offer on Mac and PC.

The tray app (menu bar app on Mac) can be confusing to users who aren’t expecting it and it also unnecessarily raises the learning curve. We find it a particularly odd choice given My Expat Network’s less tech-savvy target audience.

Once you get the hang of the client it is easy enough to use, though. We’ve certainly seen worse interfaces.

The menus are pretty limited, but this more down to a lack of features than poor design.

If you have the single country subscription package, your account will be limited to just one device, whereas the all countries and devices package will allow you to connect up to five devices at once.

The single country package will also limit you to either Mac/PC/router or to tablet/mobile, so make sure you get the right one before trying to install.

Quick, helpful responses from support

Customer Support

7.57.5/10
How is this calculated?

This rating is based on our assessment of each VPN’s:

  • Email support
  • Live chat support
  • Online resources

Not every VPN offers all of these, and they often vary in quality and response time.

StreamVPN's online resources are limited, but this is made up for by generally responsive and helpful customer support.

24/7 Email supportYes
Online ResourcesYes

There are online resources available, but they don’t cover everything and can be confusing to navigate, which makes direct interactions with customer support all the more likely.

StreamVPN doesn’t offer live-chat, which means you need to rely on an old-school email ticketing system.Screenshot of the StreamVPN customer support ticket

Overall, though, our experience of this email system was pretty good. Answers to our questions always came within hours and often came within minutes, and generally we found them to be very helpful.

Live-chat would be easier for everyone involved, but StreamVPN’s support team does pretty well without it.

Paypal or card only

Price & Value

55.0/10
How is this calculated?

Price & Value for Money receives a rating, but is not factored into our Overall Rating. We believe the reader should decide what is or isn’t a reasonable price.

A good rating here isn’t just based on how cheap the VPN is, but for the value it offers overall.

My Expat Network's two year plan is pretty good value, but given the service's many downfalls we can't recommend any of the shorter plans.

My Expat Network has simplified it’s plans recently, and brought prices down – both great news.

The two year plan remains the best value at $5.49 a month, but it is a long commitment.

If you opt for the one year plan you’ll get a good balance between value and commitment. It’s also where My Expat Network has made the biggest reduction to its prices, now just $6.79 a month. This isn’t the cheapest VPN you’ll find, but it’s not unusually expensive either.

  1. Monthly

    US$10.99/mo

    Billed $10.99 every month
  2. 12 Month(s)

    US$6.79/mo

    Billed $81.48 every 12 months
    Save 40%
  3. 24 Month(s)

    US$5.49/mo

    Billed $131.76 every 24 months
    Save 50%

Payment & Refund Options

  1. Mastercard
  2. PayPal
  3. Visa

As for payment options, My Expat Network doesn’t accept anything exceptional; you can pay with major credit and debit cards (no American Express), or with PayPal.

It does have a no questions asked 30-day money-back guarantee, though, which we really like.

Do We Recommend StreamVPN?

The Bottom Line

For most users we do not recommend StreamVPN.

A certain niche may find StreamVPN a good (or sometimes even the only) choice.

Its focus on access to streaming sites is unparalleled, particularly if you’re looking for access to less common streaming sites, or non-English language streaming sites in any of its 12 countries.

However, you can get more private providers with better speeds, a bigger server network, and good streaming options for far cheaper.

Alternatives to StreamVPN

PrivateVPN

PrivateVPN

8.98.9/10

On top of great value and reliable speeds, PrivateVPN is one of the best VPNs we’ve seen for streaming. It works reliably with BBC iPlayer, Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, ESPN, and Sky, with dedicated streaming servers for Netflix in 19 different countries. Read PrivateVPN review

Windscribe

Windscribe

8.68.6/10

Windscribe has dedicated servers for streaming from the UK and the US, and much better speeds than StreamVPN. Its full suite of features and its no logs policy make it both private and secure. It doesn’t have quite the variety or consistency of streaming options as StreamVPN, though. Read Windscribe review

About the Author


  • Headshot of Top10VPN.com Site Editor Callum Tennent

    Callum Tennent

    Callum oversees how we test and review VPN services. He's a member of the IAPP, and his advice about VPNs has featured in Forbes and the Internet Society. Read full bio


User Feedback for StreamVPN

  • 0 user reviews
  • 1 question answered